Register for myLutron Forgot my password
Energy Codes, Rebates & Incentives

Understanding energy codes and standards

Energy codes play a key role in helping us reduce our energy consumption. They set the mandatory requirements for new building construction and major renovations.

The nation’s top three building energy codes and standards—Part 6 of Title 24 of the California Code of Regulations, the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC), and ANSI/ASHRAE/IES Standard 90.1—are used by nearly every U.S. state as the basis for local building energy codes. These codes and standards reflect the importance of using lighting controls to conserve energy. In fact, they all have very similar mandatory lighting control requirements that designers and engineers must meet for new construction and major renovation projects.

Use the tool below to see what the commercial building lighting control requirements are for your state and Lutron solutions to help meet them.

Choose your state:

This website summarizes the lighting control requirements for commercial buildings. It is for information purposes only. It is not meant to replace your state’s or local jurisdiction’s official energy code. Please refer to your local building energy code or authority having jurisdiction for your precise requirements.

How can we help you today?